Falling apart

it was the hour before dawn;
the mountain seemed high,
i took your hand, and
you squeezed mine.
we climbed along slowly,
watching the views
as the first light came in,
talking of what we saw
and alternative realities.

we reached the top
along with the sun
and it’s apricot rays;
laying at the edge of the rock,
i felt your rapid breaths
under the palm of my hand,
as we cooled in the morning breeze
and saw the world below
vast and incomprehensible.

you stood up,
our hands still locked;
the wind caught you unawares,
you toppled over
and i rolled behind you,
stopping only at the valley,
opening my eyes in dense foliage,
groping around for you, and
finding the dried leaves of autumn.

About Aditi

My thoughts are who I am and I am what my thoughts make me.
This entry was posted in Foodie Aside., Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

